Am I a Luddite?

Friends, I think I’m getting old.

Not old in terms of years, but old in terms of attitude.

Yesterday, while watching a TV commercial featuring two scantily-clad teenage girls, I actually said the words, “I just don’t get kids these days.”  And this expression came from me, a long-time high school teacher, who always felt like one of her strengths was understanding “kids these days”!?

Sigh.

But the area where I feel most out-of-sync and out-of-step is technology.

Sure, I e-mail.  I blog.  I even Tweet from time to time (but, even after almost a year of doing so, I still feel like I haven’t quite figured it out; I suspect my seven followers would agree).

But, other than that, I am completely un-savvy in the realm of social media.  I don’t have a Smartphone, an iPad, or a Kindle.  My cell phone is the barest bones model that came free when we signed up for our plan years ago.  I think I’m one of three people in my demographic not on Facebook.  GPS?  Forget it.  Still a Mapquest girl.

And it’s not as though I oppose technology in general.  I acknowledge the ways in which these devices and services enhance many people’s lives.

It’s just that I don’t think they’d enhance mine.  A Kindle?  I can’t imagine giving up the physical sensations of reading: the feel of the pages, the smell of an old book.  Facebook?  As much as I know I’d enjoy seeing pictures of my brother’s recent road trip, I don’t feel compelled to reconnect with the people I’ve lost touch with.   A Smartphone?  I can barely keep myself from checking my e-mail ten times a day as it is.

For every device, I have an excuse at the ready.

But I wonder if, hidden behind all of those reasonable-ish justifications, there’s some part of me that is getting more conservative, more afraid of change, less ready to adapt to progress.

What do you think: am I secretly a Luddite?

How about you: Are you an early adopter, a late adopter, or a non-adopter when it comes to new technology?

Image: Typewriter by toastytreat87 via Flickr under a Creative Commons license.
74 responses to “Am I a Luddite?

  1. Many years ago I would have described myself the same. I remember saying I would NEVER give up the feel of a good ‘ol fashion book. And then my husband bought me a Kindle for our anniversary and I adore it. I adore it because it’s light and so portable, I adore it because I download a new book anytime and anywhere and don’t have to trek to the bookstore (thought I still do that as often as I can, just not so easily at 9:00 at night), I adore it because I can add notes and highlight passages easily and swiftly. Basically I adore it. It hasn’t replaced books for me, I still by favourites in hard copy and look forward to purchasing an old fashion book, but it complements my addiction. Oh…and did I mention it’s often half the price to purchase a book. MAJOR incentive. 🙂

    All this to say that somewhere along the line I became an early-adopter. I now own a Kindle and an iPhone. For Christmas I got a hot off the press MacBook Air which I adore. I love gizmos and gadgets. I love Facebook and Twitter. I feel a bit like a cliche. I just find it all fun, and easy to do as a mom. Bits of happiness are so easy to come by if you don’t need to get out…if you can just login.

  2. I am middle of the road. I do not run out to adopt new items – especially new tech items – but once I decide to adopt, I am all in. I long to be the early adopter that Christine is. While I love books, I long for an iPad. My cell phone will allow me to connect to the internet but I tend to use it for texts and calls. I find the internet connection to be annoying but it is not a smartphone. Maybe if it were, I would like it better. I laugh because I only upgraded my cell phone because friends were sending me photo messages and I could not access them.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Am I a Luddite? | Motherese -- Topsy.com

  4. If being a luddite means preferring real, tangible human interaction over helping someone get fish for their Facebook aquarium, count me in too.

  5. Yeah, you’re totally weird.
    kidding.
    I just recently got a smart phone. I have no idea how to use it. I call people and sometimes text. I can see my email on it, but I SO often forget to check it there. It’s really nice for when I’m not near a computer and want to respond to something though.
    One day I called Ryan because I was lost. He was looking at the computer and walking me through the directions, little by little and then all of the sudden he said, “You know, your phone has a navigation app–you can just choose it and then speak your destination into the phone and it’ll talk you through it.” And I was all…”LIKE I know how to do THAT.” Heh.
    In other words, I’m slow to take on these new-fangled things but I do try when I find the technological courage. But I’m SO not obsessed. I like simple. 🙂

  6. I tend to be a late adapter (esp in fashion!) and need to see how these gadgets will help me in my daily life. When I get on board its usually b/c I don’t want to be left out and end up like my 75 yr old mom who still can’t use the CD player! And the other part is just wanting to be able to keep up with current times and have a context for what the heck people are talking about.

    I’m probably already out of it on a number of things, but I did suggest to my hubby that by living in Tanzania we could be digging ourselves into a technology abyss if we don’t have our next visitor bring us an iPhone or a Kindle. He responded by bringing me a used copy or Wired magazine! But then eventually relented and we (actually, I) now have both (iTouch and Nook). IF we were in US, I could definitely go without the Nook, but with so few books available here, it’s nice to get them on demand.

    • “I…need to see how these gadgets will help me in my daily life.”

      Yup, that’s me in a nutshell. I’m like the Doubting Thomas of new technology.

      But I also think I would be far more motivated to get an iPad or a Kindle if I were living where you are. As much as I love my physical books, I love reading more and would have to find a way to keep my library going – virtually or otherwise!

  7. I think the most tech savvy thing I do is text. I do like technology but I’m never the first person to try something. There are some things I know that I can live without such as a Kindle. Funny thing… my mom is a self-professed luddite and my father gave her a Kindle for Christmas. I’m interested to see how that pans out.

  8. I’m in Luddite land with you. Don’t really understand Twitter, have no idea how to use my iPhone (even after 6 months) and only recently found out about Google Reader. I belong in Pennsylvania Dutch country.

    • I still recall with sorrow the month that you and Corinne abandoned me in Old School cell phone land. It does comfort my Luddite soul, though, to know that you haven’t completely gone over to the side of the early adopters.

  9. I had all the same reasons for why I didn’t have the latest gadgets but living with a techie and a social creature, it was only a matter of time before all of the gadgets/media you mentioned fell into my hands. And you know what? I don’t know what I’d do without them now. Well, except for Twitter. I will happily survive without that.

    But Mapquest my dear? May I interest you in Google maps instead? So much better! 🙂

  10. I’m a late adopter, but I love gadgets.

    Like you, though, I do find myself saying things along the lines of, “I don’t understand teenagers these days.” We will watch Saturday Night Live, and look at each other when the band comes on, because about 75% of the time, we have no idea who that band is. Makes me feel OLD.

  11. Funny and thoughtful post. I hardly term someone a “Luddite” when she is discriminating in how she uses her time (and spends her money).

    I think it is all too easy to get caught up in the “next big thing” especially when it comes to technology. It’s fine for some (a matter of priorities like everything else), and for others – not so much. I think pick-and-choose makes more sense. We have enough to juggle.

    I rely heavily on certain aspects of social media. But others? I consider them an intrusion into my humanity. And the idea of automation like industrialization is to assist us in our human endeavors and connections. Including allowing us a little time to read an actual book.

  12. Ugh.

    You know why I don’t like this subject? Because it makes me feel guilty. Guilty for not trying harder and applying myself.

    Yet, logic tells me I have to learn so much to be able to keep up with the technology of my teenagers and to find work, if I ever need to find something beyond the catering I do.

    I know I have to. But it is so difficult. That’s my main excuse.

  13. I am an early adopter (a perk of my job is knowing about the soon to be out new thing) but I don’t know if I am the best user. My husband is a non-adopter. We even dicussed this last night! J would prefer if his phone did not play music or receive email (which I set up for him). He refuses all social media. He thinks Twitter is the most innane invention of humanity. He prefers to talk to people face to face, phone calls are very short, and texts are reserved for “Where are you at?” and “Do you need anything from the store?”– and I think I programed those two lovelys into his phone when I bought it for him a couple years back…
    The only thing he likes is when I spend time on Saturday morning reading aloud the funny blog posts I’ve read during the week. Oh, and that you can get Netflix on the Wii. If that counts. Again, I set that up, too….

  14. I fall in the “late adopter” category. My daughter received an ipad for Christmas. She has tried and tried to explain why it’s so wonderful. But I still don’t get it.

  15. I see no point in technology for it’s own sake. If it makes my life better, I’ll use it.
    I have a basic phone, and just started testing (it’s the way my hipper friends keep in touch, so it was jump on or be left out). I do Facebook, but not Twitter. And I have a new lovely iPad. Oh, it’s magic. I even like it for books. But, I’ll never give up the feel of pages either.

    As for the teenager comment, well, my dear, we are getting to a certain age…

  16. We can start a community! You know, somewhere on land.
    I’m definitely conservative when it comes to advancement in communication technology. It’s because I so love words, whether in good sentences or conversations, and I’m always afraid we’ll lose sight of them. BUT.
    It’s so neat, the way these tools can aid convenience and engage curiosity – they put Google in our pockets! When I wrote about my latest technological coming-of-age a couple of weeks ago, BLW put it so well, describing it all as extraordinary but noting that “We just need to manage it, and not the other way around.”
    So, it’s growing on me. Except for Twitter, which I wanted to love but just don’t get.

  17. I’m pretty middle of the road when it comes to technology adoption. Well, maybe bordering on late – but I need to see how it’d benefit me. I ended up reconnecting with the majority of my 8th grade class and we had an actual reunion due to Facebook. (This was cool because it is a very small town and small school K-8 in one building and I’ve been 3,000 miles away for a LONG time.)

    I will say that I think you need to breakdown and get an iPhone. I think you’d really appreciate the benefits. 😉

  18. I’m the opposite. I love technology, and every shiny new toy to come my way. It’s not a good thing! I think technology is what you make of it though: Facebook, for instance, can be intrusive and a waste of time if you let it, or it can be a great way to keep in touch with your brother, for instance. Same thing for texting, or Twitter, etc. We have to own technology, and not the other way around. When I see it’s sucking away the time in my day, etc, I try very hard to step back from it.

  19. Oh, and I you won’t find a bigger book lover than me, but I ADORE my Kindle. Just thought I’d throw that out there. 😉

    • “We have to own technology, and not the other way around.”

      I think that is a very wise mantra indeed.

      As for the Kindle, you are not the first book lover I’ve heard say this. Maybe I’ll have a change of heart once I work my way through the 50+ books that are piled next to my bed waiting to be read. (And I’m sure that will happen very soon with the impending arrival of a newborn and all!) 😉

  20. I’m too poor to be an early adopter, but I love technology — especially when it’s used to facilitate communication. I don’t think it’s something folks have to adopt though. I often dream about a quieter life that isn’t constantly interrupted by texts and gadgets.

  21. When the finances work I am an early adopter both by need and necessity. For years now I have used my smartphones to keep life moving. I have my schedule synced between phone and computer, contacts, emails and more.

    I know many mothers who moved to smartphones for the sole reason that it has become a very useful tool for organizing and managing life.

    Facebook has been a mixed bag. I don’t care about reconnecting with many people, but I have found it useful for networking and have generated business so I’ll keep it.

    Blogging and Tweeting, well I enjoy both so I’ll keep them up.

    And I am sure that I will eventually own a Kindle, but I’ll never get rid of my books. The Kindle is just convenient for travel.

  22. My cell phone is practically a cuneiform, I tweeted for fifteen minutes and could never find my way back to my perch, I forget to visit facebook and have to tell my friends not to leave me messages there… the very fact that I blog makes me feel unbelievably modern. In fact, I delight in the irony of communing and commiserating in this virtual space like two old codgers in the park.

    Somehow, no matter what era I am in, I manage to be part of a lost generation… maybe that’s part of our kindred spirit. As for “kids these days,” when they’re half-naked on TV they’re being used as human shields by corporations both veiled and bespoke.

  23. You may be a Luddite. And a Romantic.

    I agree with all of your feelings here, and I am surprised to own so many gadgets. It’s all been relatively recent. As you read in my post today, I am conflicted about it, but I also like it. I have done some e-reading, and I still like the hard copy of books (mostly because as a teacher, I might like to photocopy passages), but it is so nice, as Christine said, to have something light and portable, to have the instant gratification of a book (though that’s dangerous, too), and to not add more stuff to my house. I have a ridiculous book collection, and for a while I was proud of it. But it’s getting to the point that they’ve become clutter, and if I’m looking for something quick, something fun, I’d prefer to e-read it. I don’t need more “things.”

    But that doesn’t mean I don’t love my iPad and laptop and iPhone, even if it’s reluctantly. They were gifts, and one can’t turn down a wonderful gift!

    • It’s funny. I usually have very little tolerance for clutter, and, though I cull my collection at least once a year, it’s with a sense of pride that I watch my book collection grow and see more and more bookcases colonize the blank walls. My husband is the same way. Maybe because we’re so lazy about decorating we’ve come to see books as part of our environment?

  24. I guess I am somewhere in the middle. I, too, thought I could never read something as cold as a screen, yet….I love paying NOTHING for the classics, that I can have several books at my fingertips and get bestsellers without having to drag three kids to the bookstore with me…

    As for the phone thing…I got an iPhone a little over a year ago…I love that I have my music and phone with me in one fell swoop, especially when I am running. It also something similar to MapQuest in it, which helps the directionally challenged like me.

    However, there is nothing wrong with being slightly resistant to some of the stuff that is out there. I don’t Twitter, but I do have a Facebook account because of friends who are scattered in many places. But sharing every last detail of your life…Um, not so much…even for a blogger…

  25. Dude. I can barely text. Luddites rock. (I figure my kids will be more tech savvy than me when they are 7).

    • I’m with you on the texting front. We don’t have free texting with our cell phone plan so it costs 50 cents every time a text comes in. I finally had to tell the main perpetrators (i.e. my brothers) that we don’t have free texts and they were shocked.

  26. I hang with the “Social” in social media. I do whatever makes me more social. (Oh wow, that just made me sound like I had a plan or something. In reality, this is probably just my justification/rationalization why I’m still a dork in technology land.)

    But, actually, what I said is kinda true. When I find a piece of technology that makes me more social…I painfully, holding-my-nose-the-whole-time learn to use it. THEN, I love it. Blogging was this way for me. I’m beginning to text with success.

    I see something other than my free phone in my future. This is because my daughter is headed to college soon and she texts like mad. I need a phone that will keep up. And my sister-in-law just showed me ways to take pictures of me doing fun things and then zipping them off to said faraway daughter. I might be tempted.

    So… I learn these technologies because, bottom-line, I am a social creature. I’m looking for my people. And, I marvel at the fact that these magical wands have allowed me to find friends in houses I’ve never seen. This feels miraculous to me.

    Summation: A late convert maybe.

    • “I marvel at the fact that these magical wands have allowed me to find friends in houses I’ve never seen.”

      As you know, I feel this way about blogging 100%. And that’s part of why I wonder at my hesitation when it comes to other forms of social media: if blogging has been such a net gain in my life, what makes me think I wouldn’t gain from the others as well?

      I think the big impediment – for me, at least – is time. I already feel like I don’t spend as much time as I’d like visiting my blogging friends. And if I increased my exposure to other types of social media, I feel like something would have to give – perhaps my sanity?

  27. I am a late adopter. I just got a smart phone because I was required to. They didn’t have any plain phones anymore. I tend to be verrry suspicious of new things, and mostly how they will replace my old things. I like my VHS tapes, thanks. Yes, they’re bulkier, but they don’t get ruined the second you touch them or dust gets near them. I would travel far and wide to go to the video store that still carried VHS tapes when all the big stores were making their change.

    Then typically I accept the change just as new change is around the corner. I just embraced Tivo about 3 years ago and now it’s rendered incompatible with new cable.

    • “[T]ypically I accept the change just as new change is around the corner.”

      Oh yes, this is me too. And I think that phenomenon has made me suspicious too: as in, do I really need to switch from DVDs to Blu-Rays or is this going to be the technology that gets skipped over once the New New Thing comes along? (What about all those people who bought mini-disc players in the 90s just before iPods came out? Don’t let that be me holding the year-old $300 dud!)

  28. I’d still be in the dark ages if it weren’t for my 63 year old mom. Nana’s got some serious technology skilz. She was blogging in 2005 (on Xanga), had an iPod before I got rid of my tape deck. So when I broke down and got an iphone last year, it was only because of Nana’s prodding. (And for the record, I love it, and it hasn’t fed my email obsession anymore than having a computer would…)

    As for a GPS, I think it’s saved my life on more than one occasion (think lost in Brooklyn with my 2 year old in tow).

    So I guess I’m somewhere in the middle too. But I don’t think you’re a luddite so much as technologically content. Nothing wrong with that.

    • Wow, your mom’s a marvel! I think I take more after my own mom. I think the fact that we were the last people we knew to get a microwave sort of set the tone early on for my future attitude toward technology.

  29. This year I received an iPad and I have to say I love it. I used to feel the way you do about all these gadgets but I have to admit that I love it. My iPad is great to read on (even though) I love the feel of a book when I am reading. When I am on the go I write notes on it and I check my mail. After my birthday I went on a trip and while traveling I could be connected to the Internet and still read my favorite blogs, which includes yours :))

  30. Such an interesting and relevant post. I do not think that your resistance to some technologies makes you a Luddite by any stretch. The fact that you are here, blogging, conversing with virtureal friends and strangers to me indicates your embrace of modernity and its technological trappings. That said, I do think there is a fascinating and broader question lurking within your well-crafted words; What does it mean when we stand firm and refuse the evolution that happens around us? Does it mean that we are wedded to our ways or are scared of a changing world, a changing self? I don’t pretend to know.

  31. We recently ordered Kindles for Romania. It’s the best, cheapest way to read English books abroad, and neither of us is interested in giving up books for a year.

    I’ve never seen or used one, and I’m not sure how I will like it, but push came to shove. I’ll also be getting a Google Voice number for use overseas. Because push came to shove. I think that phrase embodies so much about my relationship with technology.

  32. I switched, kicking and screaming, to a smartphone in December. My husband wanted to switch carriers and so the phone I’d used since 2004 had to be retired (not compatible). It was beginning to short out (dropping audio and then dropping entire calls), so I guess it was time to change it out anyway, but for someone without a Facebook or Twitter account — and no desire to get either — the bombardment with built-in auto-updating apps (“instantly see what’s new with all your friends!”) was more than irritating!

    I think I’m reflexively resisting social networking technologies in particular — less so other kinds — because I’ve found that they can become substitutes for real connection with other people. Anyone can read someone else’s update and feel like they’ve “caught up” with the goings-on in that person’s life. But it’s not the same as face-to-face conversation or even just chatting on the phone, where exchanges happen in real time for both people.

    I don’t feel like I’m saying nearly all I could say here (you’ve found one of my soapbox issues!) but for the sake of stopping myself before I get going …

    • It sounds like we have similar attitudes in this department, CT. Your second paragraph, especially, describes my attitude toward Facebook. On the one hand, I know choosing not to be on Facebook has kept me from being totally up-to-date on some of my friends’ comings and goings. But, on the other hand, I don’t feel like I’m missing out because the short blurb communication style isn’t really my thing. In the range of feast or famine, I guess I’m okay with famine (supplemented by very occasional phone calls, that is!).

  33. I am definitely a late adopter. I started texting just last year (no smartphone). I was late to Facebook (compared to almost every friend). I have no intention of tweeting (not even sure I am using that term correctly). And I much prefer google maps (though have used hubby’s GPS on occasion and typically with some problems).

    If you can get by on little technology, that is great (IMO). With all that connectivity, we have become so disconnected. But when it comes to the job world, in many cases, if you are not keeping up and learning everything you can (and things that you don’t even know about), that can spell trouble. I know it has for me. Which might help explain why this former editor and former biz college instructor before that feels comfortable substitute teaching in a Catholic grade school (behind-the-times technology). But the short skirts some of those girls wear…

    • “With all that connectivity, we have become so disconnected.”

      A big Amen to that one!

      But I definitely hear what you’re saying about the limitations these choices can have when it comes to jobs. Right now my job involves the feeding and care of 2 (soon-to-be 3) kids ages 3 and under so I’m not feeling any professional ramifications of my choices. But I suspect I will when I go back into the world of work outside the home.

  34. I’m an early adopter. Technology makes things faster and better. If anything makes things faster and better, I’m on board.

  35. I think you’re a normal adopter, lady. I’m usually an early one, but I just can’t get on board with giving up the pages of books and magazines. Someday? Yes. I can completely sympathize with the convenience and whatnot. But presently, they stay.

  36. I believe that finances (should) dictate whether a person is an early or late adapter. Ben and I live pretty bare bones–all our gadgets were given to us. An iPod from my mother, a new phone from my sister, and a laptop for my birthday (which is currently broken). I enjoy our existence without too much technology because we live within our means by saying no to items we can’t afford–sadly, something not too many people of my generation know how to do.

    I don’t think technology replaces interaction. As an introvert (with diagnosed social anxiety), I refuse interaction with or without technology! Ha! It’s where your priorities lie. I prefer to talk with people face-to-face rather than over the phone, and text messaging to both of those. Does that make me unfriendly? No. I just have different priorities.

    Anyway, I am a pick-my-own-pace adapter. If I find something useful, like Facebook (for strict family purposes), I sign up. If I don’t see the need, I will ignore it.

  37. I’ve heard myself say, on several occasions, “This isn’t music. I can’t believe they consider THIS good.” And the worst part? It takes a day or so to realize that I not only said it, but meant it. (And I might get myself flayed for this, but if you decide to delve into technology, definitely consider a Kindle. It’s so easy to use, and it’s wonderful.)

    • You’re definitely not alone on the Kindle bandwagon, ck. That seems like the one item that is standing out as a must-have (or, at least, a must-consider) in the comments on this post. And from so many book lovers too. Hmm…

  38. Ha, we are like you–dabble in techie stuff but behind overall. I bought my wife a new phone for Christmas–as her old dinosaur cell was near death. We are driven by being frugal though as we think that all of the new gadgets available have lots of new costs associated.

  39. Ha! I do have a nice new android phone (and love it) and I admit it, I am addicted to Facebook. But I’m with you on the books…I don’t have any interest in a Kindle or any other electronic book reader. And, what is it with kids these days? Jeggings? Really? 🙂

  40. Besides my little bloggie, I’m pretty luddite-ish.
    I just have a basic cell phone, no kindle, no twitter, no mp3, no ipod, no GPS; we actually don’t even have a TV! We listened to the presidential debates on a radio, which was a little challenging with the kiddos roaring in the background.
    I do like Facebook however, I just reunited in person with four dear high school friends, which was lovely and totally due to Facebook.

    • It’s great Facebook stories like that that tempt me every time. I actually did sign up for Facebook about a year ago and then freaked out when it started suggesting “friends” to me based on my high school and college information and so I un-signed up immediately. If I could get some sort of guarantee that the only people I would hear about are the people I liked, then I’d be all for it. (And now I think it might be time for some therapy…) 🙂

  41. I don’t have a personal profile on Facebook either and just use it for my business site. Like you, I don’t see the point of superficially connecting to people I haven’t talked to in 20 or 30 years.

    I’m already asking my kids to turn the music down and sometimes stare at videos, clips, movies, and think, I just don’t get it. And I too LOVE the feeling of holding a book and flipping through the pages. Who wants to stare at a screen longer than they really have too?

    So I don’t think we’re resisting change or not keeping up with technology, trends, fads. I just think we’re going through what every generation has gone through before us. We belong to our own generation and we enjoy the feeling of belonging. Embracing trends that belong to other generations (older or younger) just doesn’t feel the same…

    • “We belong to our own generation and we enjoy the feeling of belonging.”

      I like your way of looking at it. What’s interesting, too, is the way in which our generation is in a sort of in-between place where technology is concerned: we didn’t grow up with the Internet, but almost all of us use it in some way, whereas our kids have never known a world without texting and emoticons. So perhaps we’re lucky: we get to pick and choose the best of the generations before and after and we still “belong” no matter what we choose.

  42. i’m always curious about all the new “stuff”. I ask everyone I see why they like their iPad and if they miss books as they read their Kindle. I’m curious but only adapt things if I see how they will improve my life. At this point I couldn’t live without my iPhone. It’s just so helpful to me in keeping my life on track and I don’t use it for HALF of what I could be using it for. I do Facebook because I lost touch with people who I really wished I hadn’t and being back in touch with them has been amazing for me. Again though, I don’t use it for even 1/10 of what others use it for! I also love books. I read so infrequently and when I do, half of my joy is holding that book, turning and feeling those pages. Easily flipping back to parts I loved. Maybe I would love a kindle but I’m not ready to accept that. iPad? i’m sure it’s cool but don’t see one reason how it would help me and I’m sure it would only remove me from “my life” that much more. Interesting to read everyone’s thoughts on this! The world certainly is changing… and I’m not sure if for the better.

    • It’s funny: just after I posted this, I heard that the iPhone is coming to Verizon (the only carrier that really works in the boonies where I live). I have to say I felt very tempted when I saw that news. (It’s a lot easier to resist something when it’s not available to you anyway!) 🙂

  43. I was going to be a Luddite back in 1997 when my husband hooked up a computer in the middle of our kitchen and I determinedly snubbed it. Then I discovered eBay and that was that! Shopping plus computers? That was my kind of world!

    I admit to having quite a love relationship with my BlackBerry. Okay, I’m a slave to it’s little blinking light… I’m on everything from Facebook to Twitter and Linkd In not that I always know what I’m doing. I’m with you on the physical book thing, though I can see that my days are numbered and that I’ll soon have a Kindle (I already have an iPad!) But I don’t think one excludes the other. I love books and I can see why I’d also want some portability.

    On the teen issue – it is bewildering!

    • “I’m with you on the physical book thing, though I can see that my days are numbered and that I’ll soon have a Kindle (I already have an iPad!) But I don’t think one excludes the other. I love books and I can see why I’d also want some portability.”

      Wait, you mean there’s a middle ground? There you go again, Linda, being reasonable. But if I’m being reasonable, then how can I have so much fun making sweeping statements and generalizations!? 🙂

  44. Love new gadgets especially from Apple. I am absolutely addicted to my i-phone. However, I can’t get on board with the Kindle or Nook. I love the feel of walking into a bookstore, smelling the coffee and perusing down the aisles for my next read.

  45. I am addicted to Twitter so I am going to assume that what I say next will not be interpreted as an insult to those who are perceived to be non-Luddite (is there a term? “Industrialist” simply does not work in this context)…

    Perhaps you don’t have all these things because you don’t need to? Perhaps you have a LIFE?! 😉

  46. p.s. I have been using my iPhone to play the highly addicting Angry Birds. Now what does Angry Birds have to do with the advancement of humanity I can’t tell you. If anything, I stopped reading actual books ever since I fell into the social media land. *ashamed*

  47. That sounds so much like me. I don’t have an ipad, a kindle or an iphone. I don’t do very well with twitter. I do love facebook though.

    I had to click on this post just to see what a luddite was. I had heard the word but didn’t know the meaning.

  48. I definitely am not on the front line of learning new technology, but also feel like I need to “keep up.” Like you, I have no desire whatsoever for a Kindle type device, but do have a smartphone, use Facebook, and even tweet occasionally.

    It seems as though just as soon as I think I’m beginning to get a handle on all the new technology, there’s an iceberg under the surface of stuff I’ve never even heard of!

  49. Pingback: Get Smart[phone] | Motherese

Leave a Reply

