It’s My Birthday and I’ll Blog If I Want To

So I know a lot of you are taking some time off to be with family and friends over the Christmas holiday.

And I also know that grown-ups aren’t really supposed to make a big deal about their birthdays.

But the kid inside of me – and, okay, maybe the grown-up part too – wants my virtureal friends to know that today is my 34th birthday.

So happy birthday to me.

Merry Christmas to you (where applicable).

And peace, joy, and love to us all.

To infinity and beyond.

Image: Birthday cake by Joonasl via Wikimedia Commons under a Creative Commons license.
51 responses to “It’s My Birthday and I’ll Blog If I Want To

  1. Welcome to the spinning world! We are so glad you’ve come!

    Do you know this book? It’s our Birthday Book. I cry every time I read it. http://altaredspaces.com/island-of-yummy/happy-bearth-day-a-nod-to-debra-frasier

    If I were with you today, I’d read it to you and, if I weren’t teary at the place where the trees are making oxygen for you to breathe, or the oceans wiping the beaches clean for your footprints…I surely would be needing a tissue when I got to the part about the “circle of familiar voices singing loud and clear, ‘We’re so glad you’ve come.'”

    Because nothing could be more true on this day.

  2. Happy, happy, Kristen!!

  3. Happy Birthday!! (And Merry Christmas!)

  4. Happy, Happy birthday Kristen!! πŸ™‚ Hope you have something special planned, and enjoy the day!
    (off to write back to an email I’ve had staring at me for a day or so… sorry!)
    And Merry Christmas πŸ™‚

  5. Happy birthday! Hope it’s wonderful in every way.

  6. Dear Kristen ,
    Happy Birthday to you! I hope it’s a wonderful birthday !
    I also want to wish you a Merry Christmas to you and your loved ones.
    Ayala

  7. Happy happy, my friend! Cheers to another exquisite (and baby-filled!) year of life and blogging.

    Your virtureal (and very real) friend,
    Aidan

  8. I have a son with an around-the-holidays birthday. He doesn’t hate it too much. And I was really glad he came out when he did.

    Happy Birthday and Merry Whatever to you and yours.

  9. Wishing you an extra special day my dear friend. XO So glad we connected this year, my life is richer this year.

  10. Happy Birthday, my friend! I thought of you last night that today is your birthday.
    (I have a friend who has the same birthday as her older brother. Her mom always made two cakes. )
    I looked up Dec 24th and according to Wikipedia, you share a birthday with… among many prominent others- Ryan Seacrest AND Ricky Martin. I knew you were born under a special star!

    • Somehow I already knew about the Ricky Martin connection – but Ryan Seacrest is a new one. I guess I share a birthday with kings of pop culture! (That must explain my enjoyment of People and US Weekly…)

      xo

  11. Happy birthday, Kristen! And good for you for telling the world. I think birthdays should be celebrated for kids and adults. We needs lots of opportunities to celebrate. Hope you have a great day.

  12. Happy Birthday and Happy Holidays Kristen! I’ve enjoyed getting to know you and your thoughts. I still can recall your post on Pizza Pie Perspective. I am grateful to have the opportunity to connect with you.

  13. Have a wonderful birthday. (34 is a great age!) And I wish you and yours a wonderful holiday season. Here’s to delightful discoveries and new friendships!

  14. Hi Kristen & Super Happy Birthday!!! My mom, my shrink’s mom and my yoga teacher are all on the 25th but you take the cake on the 24th πŸ™‚

    Wishing you a fabulous 34th year (you seem to me like an old soul, so maybe this isn’t your first crack at 34? Maybe that’s why you are able to “carry” it all so gracefully :))

  15. Happy 34th birthday, Kristen! Wishing you many more in health and happiness with your loved ones! And a very Mery Christmas as well!

    Hugs to you, friend!!

  16. Happy Birthday, dear Kristen! I hope your sweet boys give you lots of extra hugs and that sweet baby (gently) kicks her good wishes. Hugs and a virtual tin of fudge to you today!

    (Whoops! … I didn’t mean to use a pronoun for the baby, but I did … I guess that means I’ve made my guess.) πŸ™‚

  17. A very happy birthday!!! And Merry Christmas!!!

    Btw, I think we should ALL be excited about every birthday!! Young and old!! πŸ™‚

  18. Happy Birthday! Merry Christmas! Happy New Year!

    WOOHOO!

    Wow. You are so young. You are practically a baby girl. πŸ™‚

  19. Happy Birthday. I have to agree, that 34 is very young and a great age. Not that I am that old either, but I’d go back to 34. It was a great year.

    Enjoy your birthday. I hope that you get all that you desire.

  20. Thank you, my dear friends! All of your good wishes helped make my birthday a happy one indeed.

  21. Pingback: Tweets that mention It’s My Birthday and I’ll Blog If I Want To | Motherese -- Topsy.com

  22. Happy Birthday! πŸ™‚

  23. Happy Birthday, lovely lady!
    I’m glad you were born πŸ™‚

  24. Happy birthday. What’s that like? Do you feel like you get short shrift? I hope not!

    • Despite my parents’ best efforts, I did feel that way sometimes as a kid. By now I’m used to it – it’s pretty hard to compete with Christmas! (Then again, I’m less and less eager to broadcast my birthday as I get older – despite the evidence to the contrary in this post.)

  25. Happy Birthday Kristen!

  26. Happy Birthday, Kristen!! (And a very Merry Christmas!)

  27. Happy Birthday! I think celebrating birthdays is the only way to go. Especially when it falls at the end of December. I hope you and your guys also had a great Christmas!

  28. Happy Birthday!!! Hope you had a fabulous day! πŸ™‚

  29. Happy Birthday! I’m glad you shared – birthday fun knows no bounds, and that should be especially true when the day falls so close to other big holidays.
    My husband’s birthday is the day before yours, and I make a big deal of it every year; my best friend turns 30 in a few weeks, and our celebration requires airfare. I tend to ignore my own birthday, but boy I love to help my people celebrate – even if only via a comment on a fabulous blog. πŸ™‚

  30. Hope you had a happy birthday AND a merry Christmas!

  31. Oh man, I am SUCH a princess on my birthday!! I make it like a week, a month if I can get away with it. In return, though, I do the same for my loved ones. My husband is still really weirded out when I “force him” to make a decision about where he wants to go on his birthday. I keep telling him, I don’t veto on your birthday week!

  32. Oh man – I feel so bad I missed it. Happy belated birthday and merry belated christmas my friend. Hope you had all your wishes come true on both days. And may you have a fantastic year ahead. Happy 2011!

  33. Kristen,
    Happy belated birthday.
    I hope it was full of sticky, little boy kisses and maybe the tiniest little bit of chocolate (is that allowed?). 3 kids by 34 seems like a great place to be.
    XO
    Rachel

  34. Sorry to be behind but wishing you a belated happy birthday. I am one of those that believes in the magic of birthdays and it’s oh-so-important to make them a big deal. My stance at the office is that no one can keep their birthday a secret because that denies us all the opportunity for cake and beer!

  35. Happy Belated Birthday! I looooooove my birthday. I usually require a tiara (no joke….just plastic, but still) and some confetti, but this year we took it light. I turned 38 on December 18. 38! Yikes. I’m closer to 40 than 35 now….Hope you had a great one!!!

  36. Happy belated birthday! I turned 40 this year and it wasn’t so bad, but I’d contemplate being 34 around…

  37. Pretty belated, but wishing you a very happy birthday nonetheless! Hope it was a good celebration and that you didn’t have any party crashers like that Santa character.

  38. Happy late birthday fellow December birthday lady! I hope your day was wonderful.

  39. Pingback: Seven Years | Motherese

Leave a Reply

