Nothing But the Facts, Ma’am

As I use most of my remaining synapses to figure out how to make lemonade out of some pretty sour lemons, I decided to borrow an idea from Lindsey and Denise and offer my answers to one of Vanity Fair‘s monthly questionnaires.  So, here goes, folks.

I solemnly swear to return to our regularly scheduled programming in my next post.

Or not.

LIVING
Where do you live: the American Midwest
Favorite art: Vermeer, Monet, Cassatt, Hopper
Pets: Never had ’em, never will.
Favorite neighborhood restaurant: if only…I don’t suppose Papa John’s counts?
Favorite cocktail: Usually? A gin and tonic or a glass of wine.  Whilst pregnant? Sparkling apple cider.
Who inspires you: my mom, Dr. Paul Farmer, Lance Armstrong (although less so if it turns out that he’s been doping and lying about it all these years)
Necessary extravagance: biweekly house cleaning service
Favorite place in the world: my bed, Paris, Manhattan

CLOTHES
Designer: Banana Republic, J. Crew, Ann Taylor
Jeans: Seven for All Mankind
Underwear: 100% cotton
Sneakers: Asics for exercise; Pumas for play
Watch: a “silver” watch I bought at Walmart last year and swear I would replace right away
T-shirt: Gap or (if it’s an at-home kind of day) one emblazoned with the name of a sports team I played on, coached, or root for
Day bag: Land’s End argyle canvas bag
Evening bag: this would imply that I do anything in the evenings that would necessitate changing purses…
Favorite city to shop: do Amazon and Zappos count as cities?

BEAUTY
Lipstick: Kiehl’s lip gloss
Mascara: whichever Clinique mascara I received as a gift-with-purchase
Shampoo: Pantene (or Pert or Herbal Essences or whatever else is on sale at CVS)
Moisturizer: Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion (that ubiquitous yellow one)
Perfume: On the rare occasions I wear perfume, I spritz on a bit of White Musk from the Body Shop
Toothpaste: Sensodyne (man, I’m looking forward to getting that permanent crown put on…)
Soap: Aveeno sensitive skin body wash
Nail-polish color: Ballet Slippers on my fingers; I’m Not Really a Waitress on my toes
Who cuts your hair: Michelle, although I haven’t seen her in many months
Who colors your hair: nobody, although those gray hairs seem to be breeding rapidly these days

Feeling unmoored, uninspired, or overburdened?  I’d love it if you wanted to follow our lead and answer these questions too.

Image: Clinique Counter on Monterrey Mexico by xolar99 via Flickr under a Creative Commons license.
35 responses to “Nothing But the Facts, Ma’am

  1. Love learning these details about you! xo

  2. Monet, Paris, wine and no pets – this could be me. Like Lindsey, I like hearing these details too about you.

  3. Me too! I love learning more too 🙂

  4. Thanks for sharing a glimpse into the details of your life. I enjoyed this!

  5. “I’m not really a waitress” has to be my favorite part!
    I love surveys like this, esp when they come into my inbox at work. Leads to lots of WAM’ing (Work Avoidance Mode).

    • Yes, I discovered that nail polish color when I was living in New York City and had more time (and disposable income!) for things like monthly pedicures. Doing my nails myself isn’t quite as decadent, but I do still love that color.

  6. We have the technology. We can rebuild her–without grey hair. Bottles are our friends. Especially when you go grey at 27 with your first pregnancy.

  7. Oh how alike we really are. I love it when you pepper your site with this little details.

  8. You do give me a little chuckle.

    Ann Taylor’s has shoes, you know.

    😉

  9. You answered so many of these similarly to how I would have! Except you knew who cuts your hair, whereas I’d just have to say, ‘whoever is working at Supercuts that day’. Maybe I’ll have to do it at some point!

    • You make me smile, Amy. The funny thing about the woman who cuts my hair is that I see her so irregularly that she always thinks I’m a new client when I come in. It doesn’t bother me because I like the way she cuts my hair and the price is right!

  10. This was so fun! It is fun to get to know the blogger behind the blog in this kind of way! Might have to steal the idea…

  11. I left my responses over at Lindsey’s post on this topic. I love learning these kinds of things about my fellow bloggers. In their own way they’re equally telling…

  12. Oh my. The style posts always remind me how I’m lacking. Style that is. But I wear a smile like it’s brand new.

  13. Oh I am so thinking I will do a post like this tonight for my blog. Love learning about you!!

  14. What a fun post! It really does help us get to know you better. Glad you did it!

  15. Hmm, I could answer these questions in under ten minutes- but I do have an advantage in that I don’t have a lipstick or nail polish color. Nor do I carry an evening or day bag. 😉

  16. Ballet Slippers is one of my all-time favs. So loved getting to know some of your nitty gritty! xo

  17. I have so often thought in the last year that my bed is my favorite, favorite place in the world. Would that I could spend more time there.

  18. Pingback: Tell Me More | Making the Moments Count

  19. This is so fun, Kristen! I love your response to pets because Ben and I feel the exact same way. Luckily for us, Ben has a strong allergy to cats and so do our kids.

    I even decided to use this idea for today’s post!

  20. Do you think it will turn out he was doping? I go back and forth to thinking they all dope and that just some of them do….

    Love Asics for exercise.

    I agree that the housecleaner is a must!

    • I’m torn about the doping allegations. I don’t want them to be true and so usually do a good job of convincing myself that they’re not. But this sport has taught me not to be too trusting (e.g. Floyd Landis), which is generally my nature.

  21. Have you read “The Forger’s Spell: A True Story of Vermeer, Nazis, and the Greatest Art Hoax of the Twentieth Century”? It’s a fascinating story!

  22. Whenever I look at that list in VF I’m always amazed by some of that stuff, like the designer toothpaste! I’m so provincial! I’m a Clinique DDF girl too, though now I’ve added many anti-aging lotions to my routine. As opposed to a facelift, of course.

  23. Oh my gosh! What a great post idea! And oh my gosh! You are awesome and I love J.Crew and Banana – my entire close is basically a combination of those two stores, with lots of Gap jeans! Love this.

  24. What a fun idea. I feel like I know you much better. And yes, Amazon totally counts as a city.

  25. Ballet Slippers? Ooo. That sound pretty!

  26. Talk about diversity—I feel like we have almost zero overlap here, and yet I entirely vibe with your spirit (I am a fan of Kiels moisturizer at least, but I’m not much of a lip gloss guy). Namaste all the same 🙂

  27. Oh my gosh! My three fac places could easily be my bed, Manhattan and Paris too! I might have to add in place of Paris though, because that I can see at any time.

  28. Ok my comment made no sense. I meant to say that my three favorite places are the same as yours, except I might interchange Bahamas for Paris since I can see that any day.

  29. I’m about to get my first haircut in a year. And an evening bag? What’s that??

Leave a Reply

